Sinus Issues 1st Class Medical

M

Masoncr2071

Hello everyone,
I am a commercial multi rated pilot currently working on my cfi. I go to a part 141 school and am graduating in December. I have experienced sinus pain over the past few months when flying and went to an ENT. He requested a CT scan of my sinuses and came to the conclusion that I have a narrow sinus passage on the right side which will need to be expanded to allow air to flow out of the sinuses upon descent. With the narrow passage, my sinus is not allowed to equalize pressure which creates extreme pain. He says that this will be a one and done deal, and after the passage is opened I should have no issues ever again. He also said that I have no signs of sinusitis. I was wondering if this will prevent me from keeping a first class medical. I don't think it should, since he did say one and done deal, but I am kind of stressing about it because my dream is to become an airline pilot. Any insight would be appreciated!

So what you're saying is they want to drill a hole in your head?

Recommendation is to go the person you use for your medicals and ask for a consult. My non doctor type take is that you're fine.

So what you're saying is they want to drill a hole in your head?

Recommendation is to go the person you use for your medicals and ask for a consult. My non doctor type take is that you're fine.

hahah I guess kinda.. they basically just stick a balloon in there and expand the balloon which then expands the opening. It’s a quick and easy procedure according to my ent. Just allows the air to get out of the sinus cavity.

Always health first.