Severe Fear of Turbulence

rfreiley

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
rfreiley
I'm a private pilot with about 200 hours, just passed FAA Instrument Knowledge, a few hours away from Checkride and having my instrument rating.

Few years ago, I was afraid of flying so I decided to take a demo flight, loved it, decided I want to be a pilot and fly myself to where work takes me instead of fly commercial.

I've always been on the cautious side of everything, verify everything, (twice) ask a lot of questions, have stronger personal minimums than most people I know...

In these 200 hours, I would say almost 50% are in some pretty rough Arizona summer days. You would think this would make turbulence a common enough occurence to not be frightened, but I am terribly frightened of it.

Today in an IFR flight we were in actual IMC (on CA coast, so not as bad as AZ, but worst I have been in on the coast). Being in IMC made it all the worse and it really took a lot of my focus off of other more important things, like flying the approach properly.

My landings have also started to deteriorate, but I'm hearing that is pretty common in this stage of IFR training. (my last 20 hours have either been in IMC or under the hood if the wheels weren't on the ground) So tomorrow I am going to do some pattern work and remind myself what a greaser feels and looks like, but this turbulence thing is really stripping me of my confidence and really does frighten me.

I don't think the airplane is going to fall out of the sky, I guess I'm more afraid of a structural problem or not being able to control the airplane in a roll or pitch. (Steep turns and power on stalls are my least favorite things in the world). At the first sign of bumps, I always keep the airplane at Va (even when it's light turbulence) so I know there will not be some structural damage and the airplane can take it, I just can't take it. lol