Setback today

asgcpa

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
CPA
DPE had a cancellation, so he asked if I wanted to do another training flight. Did not go well at all. Very turbulent and bumpy. Couldn't do anything right, and he kept rattling my cage. There was a friend in the back who is getting her CFII renewed. She was not impressed with his teaching methods. Oh well....tomorrow is another day.

I just hope he doesn't hold it against me for the actual check ride...

You probably just knocked out some jitters. You'll do fine.

You should have been there for the second to last flight before my Private ride. I made every mistake in the book save for crashing the airplane. As an instructor, I've noticed students typically have a couple of bad flights nearing checkride time, so in short, you're normal and will probably do just fine.

you know something - having a turbulent day for your check ride is a good thing - masks bad performance.

That said - crap, everybody has a bad day. You want a bad day? Read the books on Apollo 13. The astros were dehydrated, exhausted and screwing up by the numbers and the guys on the ground kept changing the rules . . . .

The only thing you can guarantee is that you do the best you can - that day. You cannot control weather, turbulence, or the DPE's significant other that day or any of the other stressors we all face -

I knew I was having a bad day and wanted to cut the lesson early....

You will learn something about yourself during these events - no matter what happens - imagine a bad day as a Navy pilot during CQ . . . you need to finish it out.

The easiest way to solve a bad day is to go back to basics - stop concentrating on the details and start looking at the basics - head out of the cockpit - feel the airplane. Fly the airplane. Feel the airplane. Enjoy. Even in an F14