Seeking advice on strange ADS-B behavior

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Piper_Six, Nov 4, 2019.

  1. Piper_Six

    Piper_Six Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Rapid City, SD
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    1959 Bonqnza K35
    Bough a (new to me) Bonanza K-35 back in April, it came with a GNS4330W and GTX330ES, ADS-B out enabled. All seemed to be fine, but recently, about 2-3 months into it, all of a sudden, I started to notice the "NO ADSB" flag on the GTX330ES screen. Did the usual customary online research and checked the settings. Still has the flag... when I look up the ownship info on ForeFlight, it shows up sometimes, even when the NOADSB message is on.

    Any ideas what could be going on?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. kgruber

    kgruber En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,998
    Location:
    M94 Desert Aire Regional Airport
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Skywag
  3. NordicDave

    NordicDave Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,068
    Location:
    San Jose
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NordicDave
    If it were my plane, take that report to an av shop to diagnose based on more facts.
     
  4. Piper_Six

    Piper_Six Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Rapid City, SD
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    1959 Bonqnza K35
    Hmm yes, so far getting negative returns from the performance test... no results... Yes, have been trying to get to an avionics shop... scheduling has been a nightmare! Will keep trying.
     
  5. NordicDave

    NordicDave Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,068
    Location:
    San Jose
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NordicDave
    Have you checked the RAIMs report on the 430W? At least that's free an immediate to see if you are getting effective sat reception.

    Also ask ATC for a transponder check. Determine if they can see the 330ES.

    Just thinking of the DIY stuff you can check.
     
  6. cgrab

    cgrab Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,801
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    cgrab
    I have read that the ADS-B equipment will be faulty if not initialized correctly. Be still when you turn it on for a few minutes. Let it capture all the satellites it can and get good lock.
     
  7. John Collins

    John Collins Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,257
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    John
    When you are seeing the NO ADS-B message, use Stratus and ForeFlight to display what is being broadcast by your GTX 330ES. Tap on More>Devices>Stratus>Ownship>N number detected> and take a screenshot of the detail. It might take two screenshots as there are many parameters displayed and you have to scroll the screen to view all of them. Parameters that are good will show their values using a green font, bad will be a red font.
     
  8. derekbox

    derekbox Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Ft Pierce, FL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Derek
    No ADSB on the GTX330ES means it is not receiving the ADSB data from the GNS-430W.
    When I test GTX330ES units I turn off the GNS unit and wait for this message, then turn on the GNS unit and watch for the message to disappear when the GNS goes GPS valid
     
  9. James331

    James331 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    19,828
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    James331
    Seen that in G1000s and 530/330es from time to time.
     
  10. Piper_Six

    Piper_Six Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Rapid City, SD
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    1959 Bonqnza K35
    Yes, I tried this... here are the screen shots... not sure I understand it fully... It also didn't recognize the call sign though the 330ES is set up with the call sign...
     

    Attached Files:

  11. John Collins

    John Collins Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,257
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    John
    Your aircraft is not transmitting anything. The screenshots are of a TISB, which means your aircraft is a target of another ADS-B Out equipped aircraft and TISB is generated by a ground station, not your transponder. So I would check the settings on your GPS and on your transponder as it does not appear you are getting the GPS position to the transponder.
     
  12. Piper_Six

    Piper_Six Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Rapid City, SD
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    1959 Bonqnza K35
    Agree, yes, two things threw me off, one, the screen shot is off the Ownship menu, and it said ‘detected, so I wrongly assumed it detected ownship...

    Second, no settings had been changed, it used to not have the NOADSB flag, it just started showing up a few flights ago... haven’t messed with any settings.

    I am leaning towards a possible need to update software on both units.

    Thanks all for the comments, will certainly have an avionics tech take a look and update.

    Cheers.