Seattle!

arnoha

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
arnoha
So, going to Seattle (landing Renton) at the start of July. I've got a few days. Have to attend a wedding one day, but otherwise pretty free.

What's a scenic flight I can take? Seattle has a huge aviation history and, surprisingly, it's my first time there. So, I'm unfamiliar with the area. What's an easy-to-fly tour to take?

Weather is a question any time of the year in the Northwest, but the beginning of July is usually the start of the best flying weather. If weather is good, head out to the San Juan Islands -- Orcas Island is my favorite; Friday Harbor is very popular (a little too crowded for my taste). Roche Harbor is fun, too.

Do ... not ... miss ... the Museum of Flight at Boeing Field.

We fly out to Friday Harbor for dinner each year from the Arlington fly-in. Look forward all year. Those museums are terrific!

Olympic Loop
Go down to around TIW then west to HQM up the coast around Neah Bay east to 0S9 then back to Renton
I did that loop in the opposite direction from Paine Field last summer, and it was spectacular!

So, going to Seattle (landing Renton) at the start of July. I've got a few days. Have to attend a wedding one day, but otherwise pretty free.

What's a scenic flight I can take? Seattle has a huge aviation history and, surprisingly, it's my first time there. So, I'm unfamiliar with the area. What's an easy-to-fly tour to take?
Pretty much any direction you fly from there is going to be great scenery. Mount Rainier is very worthwhile, and very close!

Weather is a question any time of the year in the Northwest, but the beginning of July is usually the start of the best flying weather. If weather is good, head out to the San Juan Islands -- Orcas Island is my favorite; Friday Harbor is very popular (a little too crowded for my taste). Roche Harbor is fun, too.

Do ... not ... miss ... the Museum of Flight at Boeing Field.

:yeahthat: