SE IFR practicality

shenanigans

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Shen
Hi everyone, first post here and I'm looking for input from some more experienced pilots. I'm just beginning my IFR training and I'm wondering about how much utility I'll actually get out of the rating.

The planes I'd be flying are your typical GA single trainers (warrior, 172, 182, etc...). They are IFR certified but they aren't equipped for icing and don't have on board weather/radar. I'm curious about how practical it is to fly in IMC with them, especially in when it starts getting colder out.

Second question, I don't anticipate needing to fly IFR often, but I'd like to have the option available. How much time and effort should I expect to put into remaining proficient in instrument procedures so that I'd be able to safely fly in IMC if the need arose?

Welcome to PoA!

Like you, I'm in the midwest. IMC during the winter certainly reduces my flying due to potential icing, but doesn't eliminate it. My main planes are 182's. IFR in IMC is certainly possible, and it has allowed me to complete many flights I would otherwise have been unable to complete. It's not a silver bullet, but it's an extremely useful weapon in the arsenal!

As to how much effort to maintain proficiency, that's dependent on your comfort level, and will depend on your overall experience. Why don't you tell us a little more about yourself!

SAI: