School me on welding gas, please?

alfadog

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
alfadog
I bought my son a 1972 GMC Sprint for his first car and a father/son project. He is 15 but an "old soul" and wanted one of these (actually an El Camino was what he specifically wanted but the Sprint is close enough); I had no input into his decision (I am more a sports car guy). He is very excited about the car but it needs some serious rust repair and came with one quarter panel for the worst bit but not yet installed. We drove it from NC to Miami so it is mechanically sound.

I have been repairing and restoring cars for 45 years but never learned to weld or do any serious metal fab. I am an excellent mechanic and have prepped and painted cars but again, no metal work beyond bang and bondo.

So I took a short welding class in my A&P school and practiced almost exclusively gas welding but it was way too short a class to become proficient. I just ordered a MIG welder and an oxyacetylene setup from Eastwood.

What do I need in the way of tanks? I have been looking on Craigslist and have some questions?

1. The normal full size tanks are 125 cf oxygen and 75 cf acetylene, right? How much does it cost to fill them? How much to rent them? If I buy some off Craigs, how much to test them if they need a test?

2. I see small 20/20 tanks. How long would they last welding 1/16 steel for practice?

3. What about argon for the MIG, size and cost? How long does it last, welding sheet steel?

4. How does the gasless flux-core MIG welding compare in quality to gas shielded on sheet steel?

Any other advice?

Thanks!

Last edited:
The sheet metal(what's left of it) is very thin on those cars. The moment you set Oxy-Acet to it, it's going to warp like mad. Don't even try.