Saving money to convert to FAA CPL license.

Shurdak

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Nic
Hello! I'm Nicolas, a colombian commercial plane pilot.

I've been holding my license since 2017 and still have found zero job opportunities in my country. (Also, haven't been able to finance any more training, it's expensive as we all know)
So a couple friends have suggested me to create a GoFundMe to help me save a little bit more for the VERY costly conversion to a FAA license (More than $20k!)

I'd like to know what you guys think about it? Would it be worth it? Are there more job opportunities for pilots in the U.S? (Europe or Canada would not be an option for me as I currently have no place there to stay and would make the costs even higher)

I take any recommendation or advice you have.

Thanks for reading!

Hello Nicolas, you will need at least a green card if not a citizenship in the USA - if you don’t there will be zero opportunities.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hello Nicolas, you will need at least a green card if not a citizenship in the USA - if you don’t there will be zero opportunities.

Hey Piper!

I might be able to apply for a green card in a couple years, as my mother is a permanent resident and her husband an american citizen.
That process will take at least 2 years, in the meantime I could be saving some money and doing the license conversion (Which takes from 12-18 months)

Sound like a good plan to me! all the best and good luck

Why so much? Are the FAA requirements that much more rigorous than Columbia's?
Every flight school where I've asked charges anywhere from $15-25k, it almost feels like doing the whole pilot training again. But you could say is basically the same requirements, specially since Colombia follows the ICAO guidelines and tries to be as close as the FAA is too.