Santa Fe and "mountain flying"?

Jim_R

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Jim
I'm a low-time pilot (300 hrs) based in SE TX. To date, all of my flying has been within a 400 mile circle of home base, so I've never met any terrain over ~2500' or so. (I fly a Cherokee 180 and have an IR.)

I'm considering a flight to Santa Fe next month. It'd be me and one passenger. With full fuel and baggage, maybe 100-150 lbs under gross.

Right now, I'm looking at a leg from San Angelo, TX (KSJT) to Santa Fe. Looks like a direct route would take me comfortably between the peaks NE and SW of town, and keep me over terrain ~7500' or lower.

I'm thinking this shouldn't be too big a deal as long as I avoid bad weather and pick altitudes to avoid CFIT.

Should I be worried about my inexperience around mountains, and plotting "keep out zones" on the chart or calling around to find a CFI with mountain experience before I take the trip?

Any other considerations? (What don't I know that I don't know?)

This flight doesn't seem like too big a deal, but I don't want to do something foolish (or foolishly not do something) out of ignorance. (Some might argue that by posting this question on PoA, I've already done something foolish! :) )

SAF is famous for shear around the airport. They are so accustomed to it that they sometimes forget to put it on the ATIS.
I'm a low-time pilot (300 hrs) based in SE TX. To date, all of my flying has been within a 400 mile circle of home base, so I've never met any terrain over ~2500' or so. (I fly a Cherokee 180 and have an IR.)

I'm considering a flight to Santa Fe next month. It'd be me and one passenger. With full fuel and baggage, maybe 100-150 lbs under gross.

Right now, I'm looking at a leg from San Angelo, TX (KSJT) to Santa Fe. Looks like a direct route would take me comfortably between the peaks NE and SW of town, and keep me over terrain ~7500' or lower.