Safety Pilot during Training

Rob Schaffer

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
CLR2TKF
At what point do you find it is practical to have a safety pilot fly along with you during the IR training?

I am just beginning the lessons (two completed so far) and have been introduced to a GPS approach, a holding pattern and Localizer approach, and gone through all the timed turns, climbs, decents, stalls, etc of the basic hood work. My CFII say's my VOR skills are really good, probably since that's been my primary navigation instruments since I started flying, and why we did two laps in a hold yesterday. Next lesson will be holds on an assigned VOR radial, like 180* radial of PTW for example.

Is a good time after the CFII introduces the various hold entries to me, then go practice those, or is it better to wait till I can shoot a more types of approaches that the CFII has gone through with me previously?

I guess what I'm looking for is opinions on when flying with a safety pilot can be introduced to help suppliment my training progress. From another post, looks like I have 4 good guys to count on (3 of which have IR ratings and experience). :thumbsup:

Rob, it all depends on how you learn best. If you think you will learn the GPS hold best be being taught it and flying it with the CFII a couple of times and then doing it on your own, then flying with the Safety pilot soon after you are taught the approach makes sense.

If you think you will learn better by being taught a GPS approach, a VOR circling approach and an ILS and then practicing each then wait. Logic tells me ( and the way I personally learn best ) is to learn one type of approach and then practice it. Its like any skill or task new skills are built on older skills.