Sacrifices made to afford flight training?

Njonl

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Njonl
It's no secret that flight training is expensive.... I have just recently received my private pilot ticket and am anxious to keep going. I currently work in the law enforcement field and I love the career--however, I would love it even more if I could combine it with aviation. I've looked at different jobs within the career field for pilots and most of them require a commercial rating at the very least. In an effort to progress with my training, and be able to afford it, I'm entertaining the idea of selling my beautiful and amazing truck. I love that truck..... But I love flying more. Cutting out that significant car payment will free up some money for training. I'm wondering what others have had to sacrifice to support this hobby? I don't lead a bland lifestyle by any means, but I'm thinking I might need to start cutting back! Thanks for any responses,

Nick

It's no secret that flight training is expensive.... I have just recently received my private pilot ticket and am anxious to keep going. I currently work in the law enforcement field and I love the career--however, I would love it even more if I could combine it with aviation. I've looked at different jobs within the career field for pilots and most of them require a commercial rating at the very least. In an effort to progress with my training, and be able to afford it, I'm entertaining the idea of selling my beautiful and amazing truck. I love that truck..... But I love flying more. Cutting out that significant car payment will free up some money for training. I'm wondering what others have had to sacrifice to support this hobby? I don't lead a bland lifestyle by any means, but I'm thinking I might need to start cutting back! Thanks for any responses,

Nick