Rusty Pilot Advice

Outbreak

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Outbreak
Hi all,
I'm Outbreak. A little background, I have been flying since 2001, civilian and military. I got my PPL in highschool, went to Embry-Riddle and got Commercial, Instrument, and Multi-engine ratings there. I flew my multi-checkride 19 December, 2006, then went home for Christmas break. On Christmas, a tornado hit the Riddle flight-line, destroying most of the fleet. I withdrew from the CFI course, having all the credits I needed to graduate in May, 07, and knowing flight time would be scarce with the damaged fleet. I commissioned in the Air Force, became a Navigator, and flew C-130's for a few years (no stick time; this will be important as we go on). Then I switched to "drones," or RPA's, Remotely Piloted Aircraft. They're airplanes, I promise, but they do fly a little differently from the ones you sit in. I've been flying MQ-1 and MQ-9 for the last 6 years or so. I'm an instructor pilot, looking at evaluator upgrade soon. Total time, including Nav and RPA, 3500+ hours.
So now I'm looking at a change. I am applying for jobs that require a Commercial IFR ticket (my time is sufficient) so after 11 years, I need to get current in the eyes of the FAA. My knowledge is still pretty sharp, but my hands are rusty. I have a friend who is a CFII an owns several aircraft that he can re-train me in. He has a 172, and a Mooney M20K. I've got several hundred hours in a Skyhawk, so I'd be very comfortable there. He recommended the Mooney. I've never flown one, but I do have about 1400 hours flying complex turbocharged piston singles (MQ-1B), plus the Arrow I got my complex in.
The question is, do I need the complexity of the Mooney to get current for Commercial? Does the complex endorsement have currency requirements? If not, is it worth the expense, and surely time, to train in such an aircraft?

Thanks for all the responses in advance, and for having me in the group.

Outbreak