Rocket Launching Plane

Dang!

I'm no engineer, but it just seems flimsy without the horizontal stabs being connected. She's a big girl fo sho.

Dang!

I'm no engineer, but it just seems flimsy without the horizontal stabs being connected.

I see your point.

It doesn't seem like there would be enough rigidity against torsion, where the middle wing twists so that one fuselage pitches down while the other pitches up. I can imagine this twisting happening back and forth, in an oscillation.

drone2-website.png

Just wait until both crews get in a ****ing match with each other.

Scaled Composites built it. They've worked with similar configurations before

1725630.jpg

without the horizontal stabs being connected
I have a feeling that they probably want to keep a control surface out of the potentially very turbulent airflow caused by any payload they'll be carrying

They've worked with similar configurations before
I understand the need for two engines on each wing, if this had only two engines then an engine failure would be catastrophic, they're so far apart I doubt there's any realistic Vmc on a design like that. But 6 engines? From a 744 that works out to about $320K lbs of thrust, 4 engines from a triple 7 would have just as much, if not more, power. Wonder why the decision to go with 6.. even if the older 744 engines are cheaper that's 50% more in overall maintenance cost (not that money is any object to these people, but then if money is no object why not 4 of the more modern GE190s...)

Also... is there really a need for this? SpaceX and Jeff Bezos seem to be having pretty good success rates launching from the ground. How high can this 6 engined beast realistically get? 50,000 ft? I didn't catch that in the article. Either way, awesome to see such a big beast like that... hope to see it take to the air one day!!