Requested information from decades ago for medical cert

N

Nohj

Hi all,

I'm 30 years old. About 12 years ago I started training to get my PPL, and I had to go through some hoops to get my medical back then. I had to see a psychiatrist to evaluate me and "clinically cure" me, then in the end I was approved for my medical without any issues.

This is all stemming off of the fact that when I was around 7-8 years old I was diagnosed with OCD caused by PANDAS (basically OCD being caused by strep throat in children).

As a kid I was actively treated for this and I was on medication until I was around 15. After age 15 my doctor basically said "the dosage you are on is so tiny that I would be surprised if it's doing anything for you" and at that point I stopped all medication, and stopped being seen. I have never seen physicians or anything since that time (aside from when I had to get clinically cured for my medical ~12 years ago).

I ended up stopping flying due to lack of funds while in college, and then after college got a career and settled in. Now I'm at a point where I want to start flying again. I decided to get my medical out of the way before anything else. I went in and took my physical and the doctor there saw absolutely no issues at all and approved me. Now it's been around 6 months later and I got a letter in mail from the FAA saying that I need to provide this additional information:

"A current history and clinical examination from your treating physician regarding your history of PANDAS and OCD, the report should include treatment plan, over-the-counter and prescription medications, and prognosis. Include the results of any current testing deemed appropriate."