Renters insurance, 2 questions.

gil_mor

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
gil_mor
Hi,
I'm about to start working on my IFR ticket and have a few insurance questions:

1. If I'm always flying with a CFII, do I need to worry about insurance? He is also the FBO's instructor.
Who is going to take the blame in case something happens, its not like he is the PIC, so how does it work?

2. I noticed that in the AOPA PLATINUM Renter's Insurance they offer up to $10,000 for "Protection against claims for damage to the non-owned aircraft, including its loss of use".

I'm a named pilot on my old instructors insurance plan, and we are covered for $35,000 for aircraft damages.

I'm trying to figure if 10k is enough, since from what I read here - some FBOs can come after me - depend on their insurance.

What do you say?

I say it depends on what the rental agreement says. Some state that students have no liability when flying with an approved instructor. Others state that the student and the CFI will share the liability.

You order coverage in two categories:
Liability - which covers damage to things other than the airplane, like people, or farmer Bob's prize cow. This may also cover "loss of use". This is the inexpensive category as far as coverage goes.
Hull - which covers damage to the non-owned airplane. This is more expensive. Here's an example. Recently an airplane (a recent, high value single engine twin turbo model made in the Pacific Northwest) hit a runway sign due to a glazed brake. Cost for replacing the wheel pant, the prop, and the engine teardown inspection was close to $40,000.00.

Choose your coverage based on what your rental agreement shows your liability to be. Some operations your only liability is for the deductible and they have a waiver of subrogation so that's all you're on the hook for. Others may require the deductable but not have the subrogation waiver and so the insurance company may come after you after paying off the operator.