Rent/Partner/Purchase

gdwindowpane

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
gdwindowpane
I'm a student pilot getting closer to my check ride.

Flight school/airport I'm training with is going through some drama that I would like to remove myself from. I'm also close to using up my block time for the Cessna 152 I'm training in. I really don't want to purchase another block of time from them.

As luck would have it there is a guy my CFI knows who has a Cherokee 180 that he keeps at the airport. He doesn't fly it very often, according to my CFI 5 hours a year or so. According to my CFI he is very excited to have the plane flown more often. At one time he was interested in selling it, another time he was looking for a partner.

I think I would prefer to simply rent it from him. However from an owner's point of view would this be the least desirable situation? I can rent an Archer from the school fro $100/hr wet. I'm sure the school/airport factored in fuel at cost so I'm not sure if I could get him to rent it to me for the same price. I guess I could try and negotiate a dry rate. I'm not sure how the insurance would work either. This may be a deal killer on the rental option for him.

I'm somewhat reluctant to entertain the purchase/partner options as I don't want to get slammed with big maintenance items, overhauls, etc. I don't know the hours SMOH. I will certainly get more information when we meet on Saturday. It does have a current annual but not sure when it was done.

Any thoughts/advice will be appreciated.

Thanks!

Chris

5hrs per year? That would make me cautious.

Insurance would be the biggest roadblock. Have the owner look at his policy. More likely than not, there will be a clause against such activity. Otherwise, I’d say that it sounds like a sweet deal!