Remote area training for PPL

islandboy

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
islandboy
I live remotely and cannot likely spend much time at a training center away from home for Ground School, etc. I am therefore wondering about online groundschool options that could possibly be linked to practical flight training in the US Virgin Islands.

Does anyone have any recommendations?

I am sure folks familiar with the online offerings will be able to review them for you. I have lots of experience with home study products on DVD, CD, or VHS tape. I actually collect older training materials and have about 500 VHS tapes.

Last edited:
I did all of my ground training with on line and video materials. Sporty's, King videos and a couple of others. I had my instructor explain a few things, but never did any classroom training and very, very little formal ground instruction with a CFI. I don't think it's unusual.

Take a look at the new version of the Gold Seal Online Ground School at www.FAA-Ground-School.com. You can register for free and get access to a third of the course without charge. Since 2006, over 27,000 people have joined. This brand new version for 2014 just went live last week.

Tell your CFI that he/she can join for free and monitor all his students online.

I haven't selected an instructor yet, given my residency situation. I had looked into a school in Antigua, but they would need me in Antigua for about 3 months, given the organization of their curriculum. This is unlikely to be practical for me.

I am investigating whether any of the USVI schools will accept online study (but haven't heard back) and wondered whether anyone on here might have some knowledge in this area.

Ask your flight instructor.

Self study is also an option, with your instructor's approval.