Reiff Preheater

Apache123

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Hey, Steve!
I'm just wondering if this sounds like an accurate estimate -- I bought two reiff "standard systems" for the Apache and the local shop at Waukegan said it would be about 6 hours of work for the install. This seems a little high to me, and they aren't my usual mechanic (who is about 55nm away from KUGN).

The cowls come off pretty easy, and I can't imagine it taking more than an hour per engine, two at best. But, I'm not a mechanic.

Does this seem like an accurate time estimate?

Sounds high to me but then I have never installed one. All the work is under the cowl though so not really complex.

probably not far off by the time you monkey around with the cylinder bands and them put everything back.

think of it this way, they start first thing in the morning with a good wash (can't have any oil residue under the oil pad) and then start wrenching. He's are basically done by lunch, and does the paperwork afterward and grabs another guy to inspect the work. That's 6 hours. Seems reasonable to me.

Last edited:
Sounds reasonable to me - 3 hours per engine.

I just hope I end up with only 6 hours for the install on the Mooney - They packed things pretty tight under its cowl! I stopped by the shop last night to look at how far they'd gotten (not sure what time they started yesterday) and they had 3 of the cylinder bands on, the fourth halfway done, two to go, with the wiring harness not yet attached to the engine (just sitting on top) and not yet started on the oil heater pad.

I'm just wondering if this sounds like an accurate estimate -- I bought two reiff "standard systems" for the Apache and the local shop at Waukegan said it would be about 6 hours of work for the install. This seems a little high to me, and they aren't my usual mechanic (who is about 55nm away from KUGN).