Reflecting on my flight training: What went wrong and how it got better

N918KT

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
KT
Ever since I started training for the sport pilot license 4 years ago, I went through multiple flight schools, multiple CFIs, and multiple aircrafts, both LSA and non-LSA. I knew that I never made any progress in my lessons, mainly because I kept switching flight schools. Through these years, I didn't give much thought on where I would take my flight training as long as it is close to home and as long there is an LSA with a sport pilot program. However, as time goes on, my first flight school closed down, the second one was too far away, the third had the expensive LSA, then they dropped the sport pilot program, 4th flight school had the same LSA as the 3rd school with a sport pilot program but always breaks down and never got a chance to fly that LSA. I was becoming frustrated with my training, and was ashamed that I kept switching.

Then the 5th flight school was the deal maker for me. A flight school that is dedicated to sport pilot training with very well maintained LSAs. I got paired up with a Chief CFI/DPE who is well known in the LSA industry, who is funny, professional, and felt like I made a best friend. He has a few other CFIs at his school, but since I never met his other CFIs, it feels that I am learning from an independent CFI, a CFI who is like an old master. The LSA that I fly now is very fun to fly and very easy to control. And I noticed how quickly I progressed in my training. For example, I got my student pilot certificate on my first lesson with him, bought a Gleim Sport Pilot Kit with books and materials, and am doing well in flying the plane, using checklists, and the like. Because my CFI and I clicked very well and the cool plane that I fly, flying for me is fun again and I look forward to every lesson ready to learn to fly. I now am very determined to get to my first solo and hopefully earn a sport pilot license.