Recommend some good books on weather.

jasc15

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Joe
Since I am an engineer i like to have a technical understanding of everything, which means I hate memorizing (which hurts more than it helps in many situations). I am looking for a book that can help me understand aviation weather without having too many silly mnemonics or other tricks for remembering weather phenomena. I came across this book while browsing.

Does anyone around here have any recommended books on this topic??

Thanks!

I can only make one recommentation:

Do not but Aviation Weather by Jeppesen. It was wrong, it was full of incorrect information, and it was purely, hands down, written by someone who doesn't understand weather.

I'm reading "Understanding the Sky" by Dennis Pagen right now.

Pretty good so far

I have that one. It's not bad but not as impressive as I hoped when I shelled out for it.

The Jepp book aviation weather is another that's pretty good but like most Jepp books the "information density" is a bit low and the price is a bit high.

One that Scott Dennstaedt recommended: Weather Forecasting Handbook by Tim Vasquez is very technical, hard to read, and full of very good information. Be careful what you ask for.

Joe

I can only make one recommentation:

Do not but Aviation Weather by Jeppesen. It was wrong, it was full of incorrect information, and it was purely, hands down, written by someone who doesn't understand weather.
Nick,

That's the first time I've heard that. Do you have any specifics?

Joe

I always enjoyed the Aviation Weather book. you don't need to become a meteorologist, and I thought that the FAA book did a fine job of explaining the basics with good illustrations that even a pilot could understand.

Understanding weather first requires that you can visualize the weather, and that is the part that we all really struggle with.

Nick,

That's the first time I've heard that. Do you have any specifics?

Joe