Reasonable Rates for Flying Clubs

loudbagel

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Hummingbird Saltalamacchia
Ill be getting into a Flying club soon, this is my first time so just looking to see what you guys would see as reasonable rates for my situation.

Cessna 172
Private Hangar at Class Charlie Field
Less than ten members

I havent talked anything official with the director of the club but I understand there will be a joining fee, then monthly dues, then hourly rent.

I would love to hear your suggestions!

How do they do the scheduling of the airplane? Can you take the plane for a trip (like Kimberlys) and just put a couple hours on it in a week or is there a minimum # of hours you need to fly when you take it.

From what I have seen, I would expect rates to be along the lines of

$1000-$1500 joining fee
$50-$100/mo
$90-$120/hr tach
Can book plane up to 7-10 days
no minimum or 1/hr minimum a day for overnights which is loosely enforced

Make sure to ask about the process of leaving the club and what happens to the joining fee (automatically refunded, have to find a replacement, etc)

Why don't you tell us what they charge and we can judge whether or not they are reasonable.

Questions I would ask... Do they do their own MX? Hobbs time or Tach time? When was their last special assessment and how much was it? What financial shape is the club in? How does scheduling of plane and instructor work? How does off-field fuel reimbursement work? How many new members did you have in 2011 (so you can judge how easy/hard it would be to sell your share on the open market)

My club rates...

Join - $500
Monthly - $75
Hourly - Warrior $100 182 ~$120

If it's an equity club, you can expect the join-up fee to include your proportionate cost of the asset. IOW, 10% of a $35,000 plane would be $3,500. If the plane is financed, you might be required to make a down payment and become obligated for a portion of the debt for your shared.