rationale for two panel mounted GPS

blueskyMD

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Bigfoot297
I have been looking at some planes on TAP and many of them have two panel mounted GPS but no PFD. I never understood the reason for that. I was told that you can copy the flight plans from one to another , and its a back up etc but I have been flying with 530 for many years and never felt a need for second GPS. Now if someone has excess amount of money it would be OK but I would install an electronic PFD on the panel before investing in second GPS system.

If I had 2, I would use one to fly my flight planned route, and use the other for emergency use. I would set it up for a Direct to an IAF leading to low minimum GPS approach to a long runway at a multi service airport for my wife to use on the autopilot on GPSS guidance.

It’s a luxury but it is nice. Map on #1 flight plan up on #2. Or cross track on an approach.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The people I know like to have one setup with a clear view of the route and map and the other showing traffic and weather over the route and map. The redundancy is nice but the GPS receiver it's self is so reliable anymore that I don't think it's needed. You are more likely to loose total electrical power which will render both useless.

The people I know like to have one setup with a clear view of the route and map and the other showing traffic and weather over the route and map. The redundancy is nice but the GPS receiver it's self is so reliable anymore that I don't think it's needed. You are more likely to loose total electrical power which will render both useless.
I do like how some of the newer stuff has backup batteries (though most of that is experimental only, I think.) Built in UPS! Which is only good if your AI is also immune to electrical system failure.

Redundancy, same reason many turbine level planes have dual transponders.