Rating dilemma.

gsfan23

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
gsfan23
I am a private pilot VFR only with about 175 hours. I am at a dilemma as to where to go next. I have my IFR training and written out of the way. I would probably just need a few flights to refresh my training because of an eight month lapse. I was also considering getting my multi-engine first, but I am not sure about it. What, in the big scheme of things is better, finishing the IFR before multi, or the other way around? Thanks for any advice.

Doesn't it depend on what you want to do?

Why do you want your IFR rating?

Why do you want the multi?

Either way, no big difference. It'll be cheaper if you do your IR in the SE first, you'll gain more ME time/experience if you do your initial IR with your ME. If you intend to fly mostly ME going forward, I would do the latter, if you are just chasing ratings, do the former.

Last edited:
I did my IR first, then added a multi when I needed to fly a twin. I wouldn't waste money on a Multi engine VFR rating unless you plan to own a twin and get your IR in it, which seems counter-intuitive to me. ;)
Get your IR, use it a while and if you have the need for, or an opportunity to fly a twin, get your Multi instrument at that time. It's not hard to learn to fly a twin, but it would be more expensive and harder to learn to fly instruments in a twin. :D

I did my IR first, then added a multi when I needed to fly a twin. I wouldn't waste money on a Multi engine VFR rating unless you plan to own a twin and get your IR in it, which seems counter-intuitive to me. ;)
Get your IR, use it a while and if you have the need for, or an opportunity to fly a twin, get your Multi instrument at that time. It's not hard to learn to fly a twin, but it would be more expensive and harder to learn to fly instruments in a twin. :D