Quick safety pilot question

Mtns2Skies

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Mtns2Skies
I am a student pilot, I know I couldn't log it but could I legally act as a safety pilot for a friend doing hood work?

got it thanks.

(1) The other control seat is occupied by a safety pilot who possesses at least a private pilot certificate with category and class ratings appropriate to the aircraft being flown.

Last edited:
Gee, Austin. You COULD have figured that out on your own, couldn't you have?:wink2::D

I wasn't sure where it was in the FAR's. Ah well delete the thread if its that obvious Greg

I wasn't sure where it was in the FAR's. Ah well delete the thread if its that obvious Greg

I apologize if my tone was snarky...but the answer is obvious if you read the right FAR, so I posted the reference for you to look it up!

Plus, I tried to just put "No" as a response and they told me it was too short to post!
:cheerswine:

It's all good. thanks for telling me where it was.

I would point out that since it's a pilot certification question, one's first inclination would be to look in Part 61, and I'm guesing that's where Austin looked -- and didn't find it. For whatever reason, the FAA chose to stick that part in the rule about needing a safety pilot when flying under the hood, rather than saying in Part 91 that you need a safety pilot and then saying who's allowed to be a safety pilot in Part 61 -- which would make more sense to me in terms of regulatory organization. Thus, it's a little hard for folks new to the game to find the rule on this point.