Questions to ask while shopping for II

WannFly

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Priyo
My primary CFI left (i have a feeling its because i threatened him with my intention of getting IR this year ), so i am shopping for a CFI II now. When i started training for PPL i was dumb and hadnt discovered POA so i had no idea what to ask. now that i am dumb BUT i discovered POA thought will get some collective wisdom.

here are the requirements i am thinking, tell me what i am missing
  • train as much as possible in actual or under the hood at night (haven't flow at night since little more than required PPL hrs, no PIC time at night yet)
  • fly a few approach to minimums - while i don't plan to intentionally get into minimums anytime soon, i definitely don't want to find myself in one first time all by myself
  • flying missed approach and hold in actual
  • fly VFR on top
  • record my training - my current school doesnt allow this, so i might have to a find a diff school or independent CFI, but i see the value in it. No they wont appear on YT for ya'll to judge :p

what am i missing?

In addition to shooting an approach to minimums in actual conditions, if possible, flying an approach that is below minimums, being able to see what that looks like, and of course going missed at that point.

A lot of my IR training was done at night, one of the flights that has really stayed with me to this day (29 years later) was flying the ILS to KSRQ one night in fog. We started out above the fog, my instructor had me take off the hood, and you could look down and see the runway and lights, then as we flew the approach, it went from nice and clear to instant pea soup. Got down to minimums, and didn’t have the required vis or runway/lights in site. Very eye opening experience.

Since we were flying out of KBOW, and the weather was good there, no worries about getting back to an airport were we could land.