Questions from student pilot about flying patterns, straight in, and separation

LongRoadBob

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Jacker
Inspired by questions that came up for me after reading the straight in landing thread. I'm not experienced, and wanted to know more about real world practices. Technical details.

Feel free to answer any or all questions. I just numbered the questions to make it easier to reply to selected ones if you want.

Let me just say, in the few flights I've had (11) with some different instructors, at our untowered airport we have only done a pattern on return from practice 2 times, and both times were because the wind was not in the prevailing direction but shifted so we were using runway 12 instead of 31.

I think maybe my airport where I am learning is a bit of a strange situation maybe. Maybe because of noise abatement (lots of neighbors) we are not allowed to do TNG's here, have to fly to another airfield to practice those. Also on the east of the airfield, not far away, is a nuclear storage or some kind of facility that has restricted airspace over it. Further, we tend to use the practice areas south of the airfield, where a large lake bounds the airfield from the south.

So the "norm" here as far as I can tell is straight in approach over patterns. When entering the runway for takeoff, that is where we are looking hardest (we of course look every direction). So I am not familiar yet with "normal" pattern flying.

1) Separation in the pattern: What is the most crowded, nearest or least separation you've experienced in a pattern? What is the "normal" in feet?
In other words, how crowded is it at a normal busy airport, and how crowded can it get before it is unsafe?