question

actoshcl

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Level-T(om)
I'm a college freshman, and I'm considering becoming an airline pilot because I love airliners. But I have a question about cockpit noise. Is there any risk of hearing problems with being a pilot?

-Tom

The biggest risk to your hearing is going to be when you are flying small piston singles. You are sitting about 2 feet away from the engine. Move to twins and the cabin wall is usually thicker and the engines are about 8-10 feet away. Get to jets and you are way out in the nose, engines are waaaay back there. You dont say if you are currently a pilot, but if you are serious and going to be doing lots of flying instructing or whatevery your method to build time, invest in your hearing and get a good ANR headset.

oh and i forgot, my standard way to eliminate noise is to eliminate the engine. Then I only have to listen to everyone elses airplanes rather than my own :)

Where are you located Level-T?

There's a chance someone on the board is nearby and could give you some first hand experience with the noise levels you can expect.

actoshcl said:
I'm a college freshman, and I'm considering becoming an airline pilot because I love airliners. But I have a question about cockpit noise. Is there any risk of hearing problems with being a pilot?

-Tom

WHAT?? Could you repeat that??:D:)

I have a bit over 1000 hours in turbines as crew from my Air Force days. Upon my last physical during the hearing test I was told and then shown the nice deficit I have developed in my hearing. The Dr. at that time blamed it upon my flight time and the 'crappy' hearing protection we were issued.

In the small planes I always have worn very good headsets unlike what we were given in the AF, and my hearing has not changed much in twenty years.

I think the bottom line is to make sure you are using good protection and you won't have problems