Question regarding military helicopter pilot training

nopistons93

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Joseph Jablonski
Hey all,

I have a general question for you, but first let me tell you my situation. I am currently a graduate student at Clemson University for engineering. I am in the ROTC program here (ARMY) and have a specific interest in mind for doing such,, helo training. I've spoke with my cpt already about my options, chances, ect ect, but I want to hear a little something from a current or recently current military helo pilot.

Basically, I'm aware of the Warrant Officer path, as well as commissioned officer path, and I want to go officer. I do not want to go enlisted with a masters degree in engineering. I'm aware that my flight time would be less than a WO, but I am willing to take that as a hit to stay as an officer.

So with that, is it advised to stay ARMY on this, or would a different branch be better? Currently I'm in my first year of ROTC and have no commitment to the ARMY of any kind. What do y'all recommend for me here? I've also heard the national guard path, in which I can almost be promised a flight spot, and am still considering that as well. I'm based here in SC, but I live in NJ when not in school.

Thanks in advance guys!

Have you looked at the USCG? Great helo training and some great jobs. Lots of flight time and seldom do people shoot at you.

Last edited:
Have you looked at the USCG? Great helo training and some great job. Lots of flight time and seldom do people shoot at you.

If you want to fly helos - definitely look into the CG - they have been seriosuly looking for pilots in recent years.