Question of the Week

AdamZ

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Adam Zucker
I always read the Question of the Week In the AOPA news letter. I always wonder if I'm gonna get stumped ( never do) but sometimes I am amazed at the simplicity of the questions. I mean the questions tend to be incredibly basic information that every student should have. I am wondering if the questions are actual questions submitted by students or if AOPA just comes up with a question. Here was this weeks:

Question: I am a student pilot about to take my first solo cross-country flight. I was wondering if I am allowed to bring my husband along. Since he is not a pilot, would I still be able to count this as solo flight time?

Answer: Unfortunately, your husband will have to stay at home. FAR 61.89(a) prohibits student pilots from carrying passengers. Once you have earned your private pilot certificate, you can take all of your friends and family flying with you. The only time you can log solo flight time is when you are the sole occupant of the airplane (FAR 61.51).

What is worng here? I don't know if its the student or the CFI. How does one not know that as a PP student you cannot carry pax? Unbuhleaveable:frown2:

Did you read about the prop accident just the other day? Same question comes to mind, while those circumstances were different, why don't these students know ? and why do (did) they choose to defy them?

I was taught about those restrictions, it was in the rental agreement, and on the pre-solo quiz!

What is worng here? I don't know if its the student or the CFI. How does one not know that as a PP student you cannot carry pax? Unbuhleaveable:frown2:

My ex had a similar question when we were engaged... "Why can't your instructor sign you off to solo to Arizona and we'll fly out there?" "Well, technically he could, but I still couldn't bring you." "Why not?" "Solo. You know, alone?"