QUESTION - EMERGENCY LANDING

navigator44

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Navigator44
I am relatively new to flying so this may not appear to be an intelligent question, but I have always wondered:

If I were flying at 5000, and suddenly my engine died, I setup for best glide, all re-start attempts failed which would be the best scenario?

90 degrees to my right, I have an airport 5 miles away, and to the left 90 degrees, I have another airport 5 miles away. If I turn to the right I have a 10 knot tailwind, and to the left I have a 10 knot headwind, which way should I go?

Turning into the 10 knot headwind head would create some additional lift, but then there's the drag coefficient. Turning to the left with the 10 knot tailwind would increase airspeed, but the there would be some loss of lift due to tailwind.

What would you do, and am I right in my assumptions about the differences in lift, airspeed and drag?

I've always wondered about this and wonder if my thinking is skewed. I really don't know if it would make any difference at all as far as being able to reach either airport with sufficient altitude to land.

Thanks

Jim

Go with the tailwind. You'll cover more ground gliding. The airplane doesn't know it has a tailwind... there's no more or less lift, it's the same with the same airspeed. Remember that the ONLY time you really have to worry about a tailwind is when you're trying to go from rolling toflying, or flying to rolling. You can always either fly a pattern to land upwind, or land long & fast if you have to ad have enough runway.