Question about tablet PCs and students in the cockpit

WBBulldogs

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
NAAD
I have been hearing the rave about iPads and the Samsung Galaxy Tab and how pilots love to use them to replace some paper charts and sometimes even use GPS capability.

I am a future student. Probably won't start lessons until about a year from now when I'm out of the middle east. I was curious though. Is it a good investment for a student pilot to have or should I not even worry about gadgets at this point in time? I do have an android phone that I could use to look up charts if I ever really needed to. I guess I am just trying to see if an iPad or equiv would really help me as a student or if i decided to even go instrument rated?

Just my humble,

iPad makes it too easy as well as giving you something else to learn, save the gadgets for later.

I have been hearing the rave about iPads and the Samsung Galaxy Tab and how pilots love to use them to replace some paper charts and sometimes even use GPS capability.

I am a future student. Probably won't start lessons until about a year from now when I'm out of the middle east. I was curious though. Is it a good investment for a student pilot to have or should I not even worry about gadgets at this point in time? I do have an android phone that I could use to look up charts if I ever really needed to. I guess I am just trying to see if an iPad or equiv would really help me as a student or if i decided to even go instrument rated?

Personal opinion: don't buy a tablet at this point if the only reason to get it is to reduce the need for paper charts. I can't see how it would help you much as a student. Wait till you earn your private certificate, then and only then consider what is useful.

Agreed. You're going to need paper charts to learn to plot out a course, measure it, etc etc etc. Save the iPad as a gift to yourself later.