Quality training for complex aircraft

geezer

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Kruse'n
The plane and man are from a time gone by, but the training technique is timeless.

He was a Senior Captain flying Baltimore International to Florida, South in the morning, North in the afternoon, in a Delta Airlines DC 6, at that time, top of the line. His home was in Maryland, and he kept an immaculate Piper J 3 cub in a hanger at Suburban Airport.

While I was working on my Commercial and Instrument ratings, I saw him sitting at the picnic table under a tree by the office. There were a couple of other Commercial students there too, so I walked over, and joined them. He had his copy of the DC 6 manual, a thick ring binder, and was teaching systems to the guys who had gathered. With the largest aircraft on the field a Piper Seminole, not something they needed to know any time soon, and not what they needed to pass the Commercial written or check ride.

As I studied with them, I found that the real lesson was how to find the right diagram to start learning a system, then the progression of detailed diagrams and text descriptions, until you had covered the whole system.

The DC 6 is a 4 radial engine plane, and the start of one day was the electrical system. First the elementary of the basic system, 4 generators, 4 batteries, not the same size, if I remember correctly, and the buss ties and cross connects that allowed feeding each battery from more than one generator. Next, the feeds to the various power distribution busses, each with a feed from two batteries. From there, the feeds from each power distribution buss to the instruments, radios, and other electric powered devices.