Q regarding Piper Cherokee Seats

Pjsmith

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
pjsmith
It's a long shot, and since I just bought, I don't have a mechanic (YET), so I thought I'd turn to the net for some answers:

I'd really like to replace the left seat in a 1967 Cherokee 180 C with a lower seat or an articulating seat. That's actually an understatement. I NEED to replace the seat as my long a$$ legs don't allow for much aeleron movement when pulling back on the yoke, say, oh, during landing).

I think I've been told that this process could be very easy, if the articulating seat was offered as an option in 1967.

I'm a true newbie, so I wonder, how do I find this out?

Also, for the Cherokee drivers out there.... is the articulating part just a seat assembly, onto which I would swap on the current seat, or is it all one piece? Certainly would appreciate any info/help/wisdom from the board.

Pjsmith said:
don't allow for much aeleron movement when pulling back on the yoke, say, oh, during landing

Might not be a bad thing...

On a more serious note..I know of many planes that have been retrofitted to fit people of all sizes. I'm sure it can be done.

I was thinking of going with the full Oregon Aero seat, if possible. Mine needs the webbing to be rebuilt at a minimum.

At least I can get mine back far enough. As it is in my Mustang there's no room behind me for the passengers legs.

My biggest problem now is having my legs fall asleep. I have to strech as much as I can before landing to be ready for the rare case I just might need the rudder. (It IS a Piper.) :D

I will alos be interested in what you find. Maybe you can get a field approval for the newer seat.

The old, fixed seat has a different frame than the articulating seat and, hence, you'd have to replace the whole shebang.

I have read (but do not know with any authority) that the seats can be retrofitted from newer to older with ease, but that info's worth exactly what you paid me for it.