proper leaning for continental ?

Jeanie

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Jeanie
I'm used to leaing a Lycoming and have been taught that at altitude you lean it slowly till it runs rough and then enrichen it w/ 2 turns back to smoothe.

But I have heard the Continentals can't be leaned as aggresively... I have no experience w/ them and so I"m wondering what's the best way to lean a little continental? Like a O-230 (might not be the right number but it's a small NA one

If Jeanie will allow me to intervene, I might add that we fly out of airports with DA of 7500' in the summer.

Right, thanks Dave - I forget that some folks don't live up here in the rarified mountain air

If you're flying at altitudes that don't allow over 65% power then you probably can't hurt it no matter how aggressively you lean it.

I'm also a firm believer that CHT's are a major player. My 182 cruises with CHT's in the 300 to 325dF range even in the summer. I don't think I could ever hurt it no matter how aggressively I lean it. OTOH, my 172 ran closer to 400dF CHT's in the summer and I didn't dare lean aggressively down low.

Well, I'm training a guy in an old C-150 and it doesn't have CHTs - heck it has a barely useful radio... but it does have a Continental engine

Get out the POH for that 150. Find the max power setting given for the DA you are flying in (which would be a full-throttle setting), and see if it gives anything more than 75% power. It likely doesn't, and you can lean that thing any way you like. I would lean it to get max RPM. I bet you have to cruise at full throttle when the DA is 7500, right? We used to run 150s at DAs of 3000+ and unless we ran them hard the airplanes didn't want to fly. Just mush.

Dan

Pull the mixture out until it runs a bit rough, push it in until it runs smooth. at any altitude, at any power setting.