Propellers for Idiots

Capt.Crash'n'Burn

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Capt.Crash'n'Burn
So, I'm noticing that on a lot of planes, they have different style props on the same aircraft type with the same engine. Some have 2 blades, some 3, some for and even some with 5 or 6.

Is there a general rule to determine the right number of blades for your application? or is this subject a huge can of worms with no real right answer?

lots of factors go into choosing the prop. tip speed is a main one. generally want to keep the tips below supersonic speeds to avoid massive drag as they break the speed of sound. Also ground clearance matters, especially on tricycle gear airplanes. im not an expert but it seems that 2 blad props are typical in sub-300 hp engines and 3 blades or more become more common in higher horsepower applications. It also just seems to me that for cruise efficiency a long prop (larger arc) is optimal.

A single blade prop is the most efficient...you'd need one of those redneck planes with 31" off road tires for it to work though!
:)

yes plus with fewer blades each blade encounters cleaner air

So I take it, the fewer the blades the less drag??

You know, I don't remember exactly. It's been far too long ago for me to remember the details.

Keeping the tips well shy of the speed of sound as Tony mentioned is a biggie on our engines though. IIRC a prop starts losing efficiency when the tip hits about 90% the speed of sound. It also creates a lot of unnecessary noise.

Generally the lift to drag ratio goes up with the aspect ratio. A single long blade prop has a higher aspect ratio than a four bladed prop, therfore it will a higher lift to drag ratio.

Then, there's a whole bunch of other engineering trade-offs that happen. What is the engine's peak power RPM? Peak efficiency RPM? Ground clearence. And most important: looks.