Prop surge on PA28R-201 Arrow?

Vince R

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Vince R
I'm a fairly new Arrow pilot, and on a recent flight I noticed the prop surging about 50-100 RPM at cruise. I had fairly low power set - 23" and 2300 RPM - and the prop would surge up to about 2400 for less than a second, then settle back to 2300 where it would just repeat over and over. Same thing at several other power settings I tried. Only time the surging would stop was with the prop full forward - it was fine during the climb and landing.

Engine seemed to be operating fine otherwise, with ample (and steady) oil pressure, no changes to MP or fuel flow, and no ill flying effects. In fact, I took off my headset and couldn't hear any audible sign of RPM change as the surging was going on. The prop seemed fine on the ground during runup.

My initial thought is to suspect the instrument, but before I get someone to look at it, just want to make sure this isn't just a stupid pilot error or something unique to the Arrow that I might have overlooked. Any ideas?

Never experienced that when i owned an Arrow

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

I've had this happen. It's easy to inspect the cable and lube it while you're there. After you see the cable is fine pull the tach and take it to the local certified repair station that also happens to be a speedometer repair shop. They will charge about $75 or so to try to fix it. Maybe you get lucky. When the tach fails again just buy the EI electronic tach. In fact that is the best thing to do...

Typically when a prop hunts there is a governor problem in my experience.

No audible, check the tach cable first. Replaced mine years back when the needle started to drift. Wound up being freyed near drive end. You can pull the cable completely out of shield to inspect. Might also check how the linkage is on prop lever to governor. If no joy, then as others suggested, dive deeper.