Programming Question

SkyHog

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Everything Offends Me
I am having a bear of a time with what should be a really simple thing, and was wondering if any programmers could give advice on this.

In Java, I am trying to take a number, lets say 145, and add the individual digits together. I am taking the stupid backwards way in coverting to a string and trying to pull the chars out of it to do it, but I cannot find a way to convert a char to an int. I could convert the char to a string and then to an int, but that is even more backwards. Is there a way to pull a digit from a int like there is a way to pull a char from a string?

if it helps, here's my code (remember, I'm new to Java, so no nitpicking my stupidity :D)
Code:
import java.util.Scanner;

/* Written by Nick Brennan for CS152
 * This program will ask the user to enter a number between 1 and 1000
 * and check to make sure the number is within those bounds.
 * If the number is out of bounds, make the user feel like an idiot and ask for
 * a different number.
 * Then we calculate the sum of the digits in that number
 */

public class Prog_5 {
  public static void main (String[] args){
    Scanner userinput = new Scanner (System.in);
    int inputtednumber;
    int x;
    int addedvalues = 0;
    boolean validnumber = false;
    String intasword;

do {
      System.out.println ("Please enter an integer between 1 and 1000: ");
      inputtednumber = userinput.nextInt();
      //I'm assuming that by "in a loop" it was inteded to use an if statement within a loop
      if (inputtednumber < 1 || inputtednumber > 1000){
        System.out.println ("Nah, stupid.  I said between 1 and 1000!");
      }  else {
            validnumber = true;
          }
      }  while (validnumber == false);

//we have the number, now lets play with it

int lengthofnumber = new Integer(inputtednumber).toString().length();
      intasword = Integer.toString(inputtednumber);