previous drug use and class 3 medical

A

Ajax745

So im working towards my private pilot license. Im also a college student who has partaken in college student activities like smoking weed. I no longer consume marijuana but I have discussed this topic with my doctor and psychologist (for social anxiety). My question is will the FAA contact my doctor for my medical records where they will find out about these activites, even if they don't could they discover my former habits. I no longer consume weed or any illegal substances.

You'll be filling out an FAA medical exam form that asks about your medical history. You need to self-report a lot of things.

http://flightphysical.com/Exam-Guide/Hx/

Read up on question 18m, 18n, 19, and 47.

You can train without your medical, but you can't solo until you get it.

You'll hear more from other posters.

if you no longer partake of the weed and have no diagnoses of anxiety, depression and have not been prescribed any mental health medications etc ... you should be fine.

if you no longer partake of the weed and have no diagnoses of anxiety, depression and have not been prescribed any mental health medications etc ... you should be fine.
I have been diagnosed with anxiety and I did take medication but I no longer do and haven't in like 6 months.

then u will have to report such ... and you will likely be able to get a medical but may have some hoops to jump through.

In your situation, do not waltz into a Aeromedical Doc's office with all this potential baggage. We're not saying it's insurmountable, but those of us with medical conditions and experience tread cautiously so as not to inadvertently shut a door that otherwise may have been left open. You might consider having someone who specializes in getting pilots thru the medical hoops advise you....like the poster just above: lbfjrmd.