Please help me with this. HSI depiction - IR test question

JasonM

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
JM
I feel like an idiot for having to ask for help on this. I am studying for my IFR written and there are a handful of these types of questions. I am having a hard time understanding this for some reason.

Is there any pointers someone can give me to make this type of question easy to understand?

I dont understand why some of these mean I am high or low, left or right. I seem to get them wrong when I treat it like a VOR signal. example, the course is shown as 9 deg off to the left/below. I would think I am high and need to head south to fix this, but as you can see there is only one airplane on this heading, so my assumption to fix this situation is wrong. :mad2:

I would assume the answer to be the only one on the heading of 315 as shown, which is prob. correct due to the process of elimination, but of other questions like this there will be multiple aircraft on the same heading and i cant figure out what is the correct one.:confused:

Please help..

16h30k.png

1szl1x.png

Jason...you're not wrong that there can be more than 1 airplane as the correct answer. On some of the questions, the answers will have 2 airplanes listed as the answer. It appears you're using software to study. If so, set the software to display only the correct answer, then read the explanation. Keep paper & pencil handy and sketch the radials and compass and anything else the explanation describes. Don't even bother looking at the list of possible answers, it only confuses you while studying.

I actually did just that and it never registered with me. I have been studying for this test for about 3 months and this is honestly my biggest problem. I am scoring in the 90% for the practice tests, but for some reason, I cannot grasp this. I feel like I am missing something I should be seeing the instant I see the pictures.