PLEASE HELP!! High CHT

Helicopter50

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
helicopter50
Good afternoon. I am asking this question because we are at wits end. I am a helicopter pilot for a police department in La. We currently operate a R44 with a Lycoming IO-540 engine. We are having a problem with HIGH cylinder head temps (red line). We have tried everything we can think of but can't find the solution. It over heats once you come into a hover for a few minutes.
We have:
1. checked the CHT probe. We have replaced it and its working fine.
2. The CHT gauge has also been checked and working properly
3.Checked plugs. They are proper plugs and in good condition
4. All 6 injectors removed and cleaned.
5. mags checked twice. Both times the timing was dead on.
6. fuel mixture cable working properly.
7. no intake leaks
8. cooling baffles ok
9. exhaust is good
:dunno:
my brain is fried. cant remember what else was done.:mad2:

I have noticed that the inside of our exhaust pipe is usually white white. Since this problem it has turned a brownish color.

Any sugestions will be greatly appreciated.

Brian

Good afternoon. I am asking this question because we are at wits end. I am a helicopter pilot for a police department in La. We currently operate a R44 with a Lycoming IO-540 engine. We are having a problem with HIGH cylinder head temps (red line). We have tried everything we can think of but can't find the solution. It over heats once you come into a hover for a few minutes.
We have:
7. no intake leaks
8. cooling baffles ok
9. exhaust is good

I have noticed that the inside of our exhaust pipe is usually white white. Since this problem it has turned a brownish color.

Brian

Welcome to POA... great bunch of guys and gals here to visit with....
As for your High CHT issue.... Have you called Robinson ?:dunno:

Any motor in a heli lives a hellish life anyway and just one little thing out of place will cascade into a fiasco....

How are the EGT numbers?:dunno: