Please educate me....

Half Fast

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Half Fast
I just read the article about the Remox GXiS in the May issue of APOA Pilot and I'm a little confused about something. The spec sheet on page 73 lists Vx as 51KIAS and it also lists Vs1 as 51KIAS.

This seems to say that the plane achieves best angle of climb when it's stalled.

Now I'm just a student pilot, so maybe there's some subtlety here that I don't get. My instructor hasn't shown me how to do stall climbs yet; maybe I should ask.

I believe the FAA requires a max Vs1 of 45 knots for LSAs, so maybe the 51KIAS number is a typo.

Still, other numbers look sorta funny. For instance, Vso is 42 KIAS but Vr is only 40 KIAS, so you could presumably rotate into a stall, though I'm trying to figure out how a plane can rotate below its stall speed in the first place.

Can someone further my education in aerodynamics by making sense of these numbers for me?

Stall speeds are power-off. If you've ever done slow flight at MCA you know you can fly slower than the published indicated stall speed. Additionally, stall speed is lower in ground effect. Finally, whether you can rotate or not is a factor of the effectiveness of the elevator and doesn't have much to do with stall speed. With enough elevator and enough prop wash you can rotate at 0.

I just read the article about the Remox GXiS in the May issue of APOA Pilot and I'm a little confused about something. The spec sheet on page 73 lists Vx as 51KIAS and it also lists Vs1 as 51KIAS.

This seems to say that the plane achieves best angle of climb when it's stalled.

Now I'm just a student pilot, so maybe there's some subtlety here that I don't get. My instructor hasn't shown me how to do stall climbs yet; maybe I should ask.

I believe the FAA requires a max Vs1 of 45 knots for LSAs, so maybe the 51KIAS number is a typo.