Planning trip from Texas to Arkansas

rkdF250

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Robert
I am planning a site seeing trip to Arkansas this October up to at least Harrison. I am a relatively new private pilot and would welcome any advise or suggestions. I will either be flying a C172SP With G1000 or a PA28-161 with G430.

Fly in a north-easterly direction. ;)

Not much to worry about in October for weather outside of hurricane season.

Robert: what exactly are you concerned about? From where will you depart? That sounds like a fairly easy trip. IFR or VFR?

Best,

Dave

Not worried at all, just doing my research to make sure I have everything covered. You can read about airports and fbos and never get the true picture but having one conversation with a pilot that's been there can. Case in point there is an airport just north of Spinks here in the DFW area I have flown by it four times and have never seen the strip (2000 ft long). I haven't used gps on it yet but you get the idea.

Well... Arkansas is a great aviation state. Nice folks, good food.

If you fly to Hot Springs, don't let that big, honkin' hill you're looking at when you turn base bother you; it's not as close as you think it is.

I've not been into Harrison, but it looks pretty straight forward. Often times, I call the FBO if I have concerns or questions. This is on AirNav:
http://www.airnav.com/airport/KHRO
From where will you leave?

Once you get out of the Dallas Class B area, it looks like there are three areas of classified airspace on the route of concern:

The Rivers MOA. That's usually pretty flexible space. If you get flight following, I'm sure they'll advise you of military traffic.

There is restricted airspace just east of Fort Smith and the HOG MOA. Once again, center could keep you advised if you flight follow or you could stay west of that.

As you near Harrison, there is the SHIRLEY MOA which I've found to be more active, but you can stay west of that.

Any help?

Best,