Pittsburgh PA KPIT

Bravo

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Bravo
Anyone know the best time to fly a 172 in there? Is there any crazy landing fees etc, if we were just dropping off a passenger?

Im a pretty new pilot having 130 hours under my belt. I had to leave a car at the airport parking and since i live 3 hours away, i was going to split a flight up with a friend to pick it up. Ive also never landed at a class B airport.

My other options of nearby airports would involve getting a cab and 30-40 min drive to KPIT. Hoping to save that time from the 3 hour drive home.

Short of calling the facility and asking, it's tough to say. In its hey day, PIT was a huge USAir hub, but now I'm not so sure. As for easy GA relievers you may want to consider Beaver Falls. I'd probably start by calling the PIT FBO, followed by a quick call to the tower, they may be able to shed some light on the subject.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

In its hey day, PIT was a huge USAir hub, but now I'm not so sure. I'd probably start by calling the PIT FBO, followed by a quick call to the tower, they may be able to shed some light on the subject.

Agree. The place is a ghost town now compared to the USAir hey days. I'd think getting in and out would be a pice of cake, just a matter of landing/FBO costs.

Anyone know the best time to fly a 172 in there? Is there any crazy landing fees etc, if we were just dropping off a passenger?

Im a pretty new pilot having 130 hours under my belt. I had to leave a car at the airport parking and since i live 3 hours away, i was going to split a flight up with a friend to pick it up. Ive also never landed at a class B airport.

My other options of nearby airports would involve getting a cab and 30-40 min drive to KPIT. Hoping to save that time from the 3 hour drive home.