Pitting cylinders

ivan.rosado1

Filing Flight Plan
I'm looking to buy a 1981 piper archer II. Looking at the logbooks I read that at the last annual, the mechanic found light to moderate pitting on the cylinders. I am wondering if this is an early sign of problems or is it to be expected. Aircraft is around 3000 TTAF and about 600+ since major.

I'm looking to buy a 1981 piper archer II. Looking at the logbooks I read that at the last annual, the mechanic found light to moderate pitting on the cylinders. I am wondering if this is an early sign of problems or is it to be expected. Aircraft is around 3000 TTAF and about 600+ since major.

How long (calendar time) since major? I'm no expert, but corrosion (what I suspect the pitting is from) is more likely in an engine that sits for long periods.

John

Where is the airplane located?

Light to moderate pitting at 600 hrs sounds like it has been sitting/not flying in a wet climate. I would not expect it to make TBO without cylinder work in the not too distant future. Is the asking price accounting for this?

The next question I would have is, if the cylinders are showing that at 600 hrs, what is the condition of the rest of the airframe?

This might be an airplane to get a good deal on with the expectation that you are going to have to put money into it or it might be one to run away from.

Just my thoughts as an pilot and owner. I'm not an mechanic.

ON the cylinders?

The Aircraft is in FL. I am waiting on the info about the last overhaul. Your feedback sounds exactly what I am suspecting. Price sounds right (close to vref) but my "mission" does not include hiring a full time mechanic (LOL). Jokes aside, I want this archer to get my instrument rating and do some island hoping with my wife and son (I live in Puerto Rico). A project plane sound like fun but not right now.

External corrosion is an indication of not painting the cylinders. Not much else.