Pilot report, Monerai P

wby0nder

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Matt Michael
Monerai P N1390V took to the air again today for the first time since 2003.
I've had it in storage for several years waiting for the free time to get her
airworthy again. It's been my intent all along to find a good home for this
fine bird but I wanted to fly it and check everything out first.

If you are wondering what a Monerai is, look here: www.monerai.com Basically, it's a little single seat motor glider.

The original builder had only flown about 3 of the required 10 hours of test
time before he quit flying. So after getting the test area changed in the
operating limitations, completing an annual inspection, and updating the weight and balance I took her up for a brief familiarization flight at sunset today.

I've been an airplane pilot for only a few years but have been flying gliders
since 1986. The Monerai is the 30th type of glider/motorglider that I've flown. So my comments come from that context.

The cockpit is a pretty tight fit and I'm only 5'8"/150lbs. I always wear a
parachute so that boosts me up to 170. I need to adjust the rudder pedals yet which might help but I'd doubt that anyone much larger could fit. Trading the parachute for an inch of temperfoam would make a huge difference and allow a larger person to fit. The side stick works fine but if you've got fat legs forget it. I'd wager that a slightly different stick design would help a lot.

With a gallon of fuel (half tank) my 170 lbs just about maxes-out the gross
weight at 500lbs. This machine has two 6 lb batteries in the front for engine starting and it might work just fine with only 1 thereby allowing a slightly heavier pilot. As a pure glider the useful load would increase whatever the engine weighs which I don't know at the moment. (oh, a weight and balance pun, get it?)

The steerable tail wheel and wingtip wheel "stalks" make it so you can taxi