Picking a flight school? Help needed

lorenzzach

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
lorenzzach
Hello to any pilot out there... I am new to POA and was drawn here through a few aviation related questions. I am a high school senior and I am trying to figure out the rest of my life, all I know is that I love aviation. I am at a bit of trouble deciding on which flight school to attend next fall. Should I go to Bowling Green State University and train there, or go to school in my hometown at University of Cincinnati Clermont for 2 years, and then get my bachelor's at Embry Riddle? I am interested in Riddle but I just can't afford going there for 4 years. I am planning on joining the Air National Guard this summer to help pay for it also. Any responses are greatly appreciated

Personally I'd start off in a glider, than tailwheel and go from there.

Get the cheapest and fastest 4 year degree you can online, unless the profession you're going into requires a specific degree (ie going to school for nursing or your CPA etc).

I would recommend staying local if you can live at home. Is the Guard unit near your home? If so definitely stay there. If you really want to be a pilot, you can't beat what the Guard offers.

I got the GI Bill and used my Guard unit for extra money through college. Start talking to the pilots right away and let them know you are interested in flying. I saved money and took small loans out to pay for my lessons while working my way through school. I don't see the need for going to a big name school like Embry Riddle, and I couldn't have afforded it at the time so it wasn't an option for me.

BGSU is a great school. I'm also originally from Cincinnati. Many students around here will get their private outside of school to get a jumpstart on the aviation program, and to save some money on training. That way you can attend a school for aviation, but get the flying done beforehand.