Phraseology to visually avoid obstacles?

bcool

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Bud
I was flying IFR this week (I'm relatively new at the game), and on two consecutive flights the controllers asked me a question that I had never heard before & it threw me for a loop. After asking them to "say again", and then asking for clarification, one of them rephrased the question but it was almost like he couldn't (or wasn't allowed to) more fully explain what he meant.

Basically, it sounded like he was asking me if I could maintain visual separation from nearby obstacles, but darn if I could figure out exactly what he was saying because it was phrased so oddly (at least in my opinion). Any of you controllers know what this could have been?

was it something along the lines of "are you able to maintain your own terrain and obstruction clearance between your present altitude and a climb to XXXX?"

was it something along the lines of "are you able to maintain your own terrain and obstruction clearance between your present altitude and a climb to XXXX?"

Yup common, especially in areas where the radar doesn't get very low.

Yup common, especially in areas where the radar doesn't get very low.