Photography forums

ScottK

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
ScottK
Anybody here belong to a good photography forum? I'm looking for a site that is interested in the photography and not the drama.

I'm not a total beginner, but I am at the early stages of learning techniques and my camera.

I don't know about forums, but Scott Kelby's books are fantastic...no BS, just simple formulas for great photographs...there are three of them (last I checked) like this:

upload_2018-11-20_13-28-8.png

I just realized I'm telling Scott K to get Scott K's books...

Dpreview.com has great reviews and forums on the hardware aspects.

Thephotoforum is a great place to learn.

Tim

Sent from my SM-J737T using Tapatalk

Photography-on-the.net is the best I’ve found. Lots of nice, helpful, and talented people there.

Thanks for the info! I'll take a look at all of these.

Stock photo companies and photo software companies often have excellent forums. Here are two that I like.

Dreamstime forums. Dreamstime is one of my preferred microstock sites as both a designer and a contributor. You need to be a registered member to post, but you don't need to have had any images approved for sale yet.

Serif Affinity forums. They publish the superb and unbelievably inexpensive Affinity Photo software (a competent replacement for Adobe Photoshop), as well as the equally superb and inexpensive Affinity Designer (a competitor to Adobe Illustrator). They also have a desktop publishing program, Affinity Publisher, in open beta; and a lot of inexpensive add-ons for their software.

All of Serif's software is sold by outright purchase rather than subscription, and is frequently updated with bugfixes and new features. I don't know if there's a fee to renew the updates. If there is, they haven't billed me for it yet. Free trials are available for all of their primary products. I don't know about the add-ons.