pfSense low-power firewall - my build

ChrisK

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Toph
If anyone has any questions, wants help building something like this, or just wants to offer me advice, please don't hesitate to reply or PM me!

I have had a Smoothwall Express based firewall running on a 1GB RAM Pentium 4 that I got for free many years ago. It got to the point where I was having trouble upgrading the software, so I decided to replace it with a new system.

Background - There are 7 people living in my house, including two adult children (they're both working and going to school), so controlling and shaping my bandwidth is pretty important. I pay about $110/month JUST FOR INTERNET :)eek:), which I kinda offset / justify by the fact that I'm a long-time IT consultant.. Don't burst my bubble. I've always been interested in SOHO hardware for home use!

What I hope to gain
I have a few problems I'm trying to solve. First, I have some kids in the house who are pretty technical and don't always understand the ramifications of what they do, so being able to monitor and block things like bittorrent or capture virus-laden or suspicious web sites before they show up in the browser is pretty important to me. Secondly, having a good intrusion detection system is nice. Thirdly, when things DO go wrong on the network, I want to figure out why, and shape / block traffic so that we are all good neighbors. Finally, some of the out-of-the-box features (like VPN and traffic monitoring) are really nice to have.

Build / Buy Options
  1. Chuck the firewall idea and just use a router
  2. Buy a firewall / network protection box
  3. Buy a new box and install software
  4. Buy a bunch of pieces and build my own
Since I like tinkering, I went with option 4.

My shopping list
Note - these are affiliate links only because I was having a little fun. If y'all buy anything using them, I'll give the gift card back to POA management if they'll take it ;)