Past SSRI use

R

Roger Roger

I was prescribed Lexapro 10MG for about 14 months during a particularly stressful time in my life. I was having bouts of insomnia that my GP felt was related to anxiety. The Lexapro worked and got me back to my old self and soon I started sleeping normally again. I remained on the 10mg dosage until both my doctor and I decided I could be weaned off. After a period of tapering, I stopped the medicine and have been off it for over 18 months with no ill after effects. In fact, I feel great, my health is good; I am exercising regularly, eating healthy, and generally have a positive outlook. This episode was my one and only that I believe was brought on by the COVID lockdowns and associated stressors related to my particular line of work.

I have been flying consistently for the past 10 years and had previously switched to Basic Med just because it was easier. I have my private, Instrument, and am currently training for my commercial license. My hope is to earn my CFI and become a part time instructor at my local flight school.

My question is what hoops will I have to jump through to get back to a regular medical? Will I have to go through the HIMS program, complete a COGSCREEN, or spend $$$$ thousands demonstrating I am fit to fly?

@lbfjrmd

@bbchien

My hope is to earn my CFI and become a part time instructor at my local flight school.
My question is what hoops will I have to jump through to get back to a regular medical? Will I have to go through the HIMS program, complete a COGSCREEN, or spend $$$$ thousands demonstrating I am fit to fly?

A search for previous SSRI threads

https://www.pilotsofamerica.com/community/search/search?keywords=ssri&title_only=1

would have revealed a post from @bbchien from last month that should apply to you:

https://www.pilotsofamerica.com/community/threads/ssri-path-1.142122/#post-3380251

So, yes, you can likely be issued.

...but, FWIW, you can get your comm/CFI and instruct with BasicMed.